Identifying who really is a True Friend

Now obviously there might be people on this platform who might have published stuff like this, or you might just be that person who’s all like “Pfffft, I already know this stuff..“, but I feel that’s not true. It’s always in our mind that we know exactly who out true friends are, and I totally respect that, but then when one of them actually stabs you in the back, you tend to get depressed and lonely…

So, I’ve tried using one of my truest of friends ever’s example in showing everyone who really is a true friend. To just keep her identity safe, let’s just call her Emily.

Now Emily came to my school (international) 2 years ago in 7th grade, and she wasn’t really that good at English, which made it super duper hard to communicate with her. I at first thought my other set of friends were amazing and that we’d stay that way for the whole time in Middle School. Obviously, you can predict what happens once the next year starts.

Anyways, Emily started to hang out with us, and sit with us at lunch with my other 6 friends, out of which I was the closest to some other girl, let’s say Camille. When someone doesn’t know another’s language that well, it’s really hard to communicate and get to know the other, which is why Emily was always a little outcast at our table. So, she moved on to sitting with people in her English Learning classes and got along just fine with them.

So I’m left with tons of my friends, us feeling like a small burden just got lifted off with Emily’s departure, but in the end, it just made the whole situation worse. One of the girls in my group decided that me and Camille weren’t it to be part of the group, and over time, all the friends that I thought were true the way they were, just turned their backs on me. Camille and I were left to fend for ourselves and start anew in the next year of 8th grade.

Having learnt my lesson about big groups, I decided to start small and befriended a new student, Aiden (not his real name) and we hit it off. Camille was overjoyed, especially since her new opening as a person (opening up to me) and having a guy friend. This year was also the time when I opened up so much I had tons of guy friends, and it sorta also became my guy-friend phase.

Going back to Aiden, we were always hanging out, went for a movie (with Camille always wanting to tag along) that just 3 and half months into the school year, Camille started to get a little obsessive about being around Aiden. She was so…reluctant to ever not be there when me and him hung out that once when I did decide to invite my other new friends and him, and not her, she flipped and lied to adults to get me into trouble. I didn’t understand what was wrong about not having her around for just one time, but she didn’t think so and I ended up getting punished for ME doing the wrong thing.

Camille was known for a history of being left out and thinking her mental learning problem to be taken advantage of. It hurt my feelings that because of her, I was losing the friend, I BEFRIENDED. But nonetheless, she made many think it was my fault (mostly the adults she involved) and I could never be the same as I thought those first 2 months.

So I decided to move on and just start to stay with people whom it was easier for me to talk to, without having to be forced to only listen to Camille talk about herself all the time. They accepted me, and I enjoyed the company, but a month or two later, I felt I wasn’t being myself. Something didn’t feel right, and I didn’t know what to do anymore.

One day, I just decided that I’d just try sitting with Emily once in a while at lunchtime. We already had 2 classes together that we were close in (she was speaking way better now), so it was easier and I enjoyed sitting at lunch with her. In the end, I drifted off from those other people, and the rest of the year was spent with Emily and all her other friends. Emily didn’t care that we didn’t talk much in 7th grade, she knew it had been hard anyway, and she accepted me for who I was, and also knew that it wasn’t my fault for what happened to Camille.

I felt happy with Emily, she was always there for me the rest of the year, I met tons of other people who didn’t care about my past with others, and they accepted me for who I was and not my any looks or background. I found my true friend, and others who could be so, and I knew they’d stick by me for as long as they can.

That is what I’d like everyone to know. A true friend isn’t one who’ll tell everybody your secrets, or stab you in the back if you hang out with someone else without them. They might be funny, caring, and trustworthy at first, but the choice of being that way for all time is what decides whether they’ll stick by you or not. We all know it’s very hard to find that true friend because the world today is so judge-y these days, and sometimes people have to have a super bad time to know whose the true pal. But it’s always worth it, because the moment you know, you’ll never have to think twice again.

Hope you enjoyed reading this,and..

Stay Awesome! 😀

Leave a Reply

